Winners of Parole Illinois Art & Essay Contest

We are pleased to announce the awaited winners of the Parole Illinois Art & Essay Contest!!

1st place winner of the art contest.

Essay contest:
1stplace: Marni Yang, The Importance of a Second Chance
2ndplace: Karen McCarron
3rdplace: Shawnette Green
4thplace: Michael Carter, Michael Stone

*Typed versions of the winning essays will be posted here soon!

Art Contest:
1stplace: Roberto Hurtado (#1)
2ndplace: Terry Dibble (#30)
3rdplace: Nickolas Haselrig (#16)
4thplace: Charles McLaurin (#23)
Honorable mention: James Galambos (#18), Devon Bennett (#22)

1stplace: Corey Fox (#3)
2ndplace: La Toyia Warren (#33)

Essays were judged by a panel of judges chaired by Former Associate Director of the Northwestern Cook Writing Program, Dr. Penny Hirsch. The logo was judged by visual artist Ike Okafor-Newsum. Art was judged by everyone who voted!

We would like to thank the following people for helping to judge and process the submissions, type the winning essays, process letters to everyone who submitted, create certificates for the winners, and provide technical help that was essential to running this contest:

David Soliday, Penny Hirsch, Ike Okafor-Newsum, Curry Carr, Shirley Stone, Bob Stone, Hannah Wargo, Angie Sandhu, Judy Larson, Raissa and Kandi.

Howard, Joe, Felicity, and Shari for Parole Illinois